the solution to our struggles

psalm 119

Psalm 119 is one of my very favorite psalms. It is twice as long as any other psalm (the longest chapter in the Bible), and Matthew Henry says it “shines brightest in the constellation.” It is all about God’s Word and it’s central place in the author’s life. Over and over he talks about his persecutions, troubles, his emotional desperation, saying, “Trouble and anguish have come upon me, Yet Your commandments are my delight,” “I am a stranger in the earth; Do not hide Your commandments from me,” and “This is my comfort in my affliction, that Your word has revived me.”

What trouble are you facing today? The psalmist found the solution to his struggles in God’s Word. The Word of God is all-sufficient, and it is “perfect, reviving the soul.” Does your soul need revived? Meditate on the promises and the teachings of God. Are you lacking joy? “The precepts of the LORD are right, giving joy to the heart.” Do you feel inadequate? Ill-equipped for the battles you are facing in life? Call upon the One who is Mighty – “Your hands made me and fashioned me; Give me understanding, that I may learn Your commandments.” (v. 73) The same one who formed you fearfully and wonderfully still has His hand upon you and can give you understanding. God is so good, and He has given us the bread of His Word to nourish us in the places of our deepest hunger! So often we think money would solve many of our problems, but the psalmist says “The law of Your mouth is better to me than thousands of gold and silver pieces”!!

It can seem strange at times how one day I read my Bible dutifully, perhaps gleaning some truth, but mostly just trying to keep a habit. But then there are times when every word seems to be blazing smoke, like the burning coal that touched the prophet Isaiah’s lips (Isaiah 6) – like a message sent directly to me from heaven instructing me in how to live, like comforting a tired and sad heart, or instructing me in a specific situation. I realize at times OUCH! The word of God is a sword! (Eph. 6:17, Hebrews 4:12) It is penetrating deep into my thoughts and attitudes that I hardly even knew I had. In the past week it has been so alive to me and I thank the Lord for His law that is my delight!

In light of the persecution our brothers and sisters are facing around the world, I find myself praying for them often, that God would comfort them and encourage them through His word. I think of those grieving their homes and family members, and pray for them, “My soul weeps because of grief; Strengthen me according to Your word.” (v. 28)

Drink deeply, sisters! The Word of God is sufficient to instruct us in righteousness, to complete us, and prepare us for every good work (2 Timothy 3:17). I pray that you would turn to His Word to find joy, comfort, healing, direction, and Jesus! May the Lord shine his face upon you and teach you His statutes.

Oh, LORD! “Open (our) eyes, that (we) may behold wonderful things from Your law.” (v. 18)

❤ jc

Leave a Reply

