Homesick at Home

[Hello, happy Tuesday all! Hope you’re having a great week and looking forward to loving on the special people in your life this Valentine’s Day. Today I am sharing with you something that has been on my mind and heart lately that I took time to try to sort out and write about for a ladies’ group…hope you will be encouraged. Blessings to you & yours!]

Homesick at Home

Maybe you have heard this oft-quoted line from C.S. Lewis: “If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.” (Mere Christianity)

I, like many of you, have chosen to be a homemaker. Most of the time I love it and find it immensely fulfilling. Yet while there is joy and satisfaction in living out this calling, doing work “heartily, as for the Lord, rather than for men,” there are days when I feel inexplicably sad. Out-of-place. Maybe even a little lost.

Was I really made for this?

“This world is beautiful but badly broken.” N.D. Wilson says. It’s true, isn’t it? I’m sure you feel that every day. It can been seen even in the simple beauty of breast feeding, and then the brokenness and pain of mastitis when things go awry. I feel the beauty and the brokenness of our world in my marriage – it can be so sweet, such a tender blessing, then at times it is disappointing because it doesn’t live up to my expectations or make me feel as brim-full of happiness as I want to. And it’s not just the world that’s broken – it’s you and I, too. Do you feel it? We’re not satisfied here – with who we are, what our work is, or the way our husbands/children make us feel.

But be encouraged! Recognizing this brokenness is truly a freeing thing. We are not meant to be satisfied with earthly things, for: “Our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.” (Phil. 3:20) Lewis said it this way: “I must keep alive in myself the desire for my true country, which I shall not find till after death; I must never let it get snowed under or turned aside; I must make it the main object of life to press on to that country and to help others do the same.” Hebrews 11 says we are strangers and exiles on the earth! Mama, sometimes I feel exiled to an island of laundry and screaming natives! 😉

Press on today, in your work at home. Don’t be discouraged if your work does not satisfy you. Have faith in the unseen. Christ is our joy and satisfaction. Your feeling of dissatisfaction is not because you “belong” somewhere else, like in a career or office setting. You “belong” where God’s word instructs you to be – in your home. And there is joy and satisfaction to be found here. But you are a citizen of heaven! Christ is in you, the hope of glory! (Col. 1:27) If you are aching, longing, unsatisfied – recognize that it is Christ and the better country you ultimately desire. Press on toward the goal and prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus (Phil. 3:14).

“Stop weeping; behold the Lion that is from the tribe of Judah…” (Revelation 5:5)

The Christian pleasure was poetic, for it dwelt on the unnaturalness of everything in light of the supernatural…I had heard that I was in the wrong place, and my soul sang for joy, like a bird in spring…I knew now…why I could feel homesick at home.” – G.K. Chesterton (Orthodoxy)

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Homesick at Home

  1. Hi Jordan! It is normal to been a bit flat at times but don’t worry. One day you will look back so fondly on the time (now) when your children were all so sweet and little. You are such a wonderful wife mother and homemaker and it is an honour to us that you share your journey with us. I always look forward to your posts. God has given you a wonderful gift to express yourself and write and reach out to so many people. You are a wonderful witness and you will never know how much your interaction blesses so many people. God bless you richly I pray! Sending love from Australia. xxx

  2. Pingback: bookishness. | jordan carlson | a day in the life

Leave a Reply

