Asaph’s Inheritance…& Ours!

{This is a short devotional thought that I wrote recently for a ladies’ group (slight edited since)…some musings on one of my favorite Psalms – Psalm 73!}

The Psalmist Asaph is irritable and even angry about all that he sees going on around him in the first half of Psalm 73. He was growing envious of the prosperity of the wicked (they are healthy, without worry or pain, at ease, increasing in wealth). It just doesn’t seem right! If God is good to the pure in heart (as Asaph understood in verse 1), why does it seem as if the wicked have the blessing of God, while Asaph has “in vain” kept his heart pure and washed his hands in innocence (v. 13)?

The angst rises from verse 1 through 16, as Asaph is troubled while trying to understand. I’ve been there – have you? Struggling with envy or feeling as if God isn’t really looking out for you the way He maybe ought? The way he could? How come the disobedient and the arrogant seem to have no lack?

But all of Psalm 73 hinges on verse 17, when Asaph “came into the sanctuary of God…”

When we come to worship God, our eyes are opened. Circumstances look different. All the things of life are made clearer when we recognize God for who He is. In the sanctuary, in worship, Asaph’s eyes are opened and he begins to understand.

Asaph says “When my heart was embittered and I was pierced within, then I was senseless and ignorant; I was like a beast before You.” He realizes that he’s been a fool! The prosperity of the wicked is very temporary, and horrors await (v. 19). In the Lord’s sanctuary Asaph realizes that though his portions of health and wealth may be lesser than those he was troubled by, his portion was on an entirely different plane than theirs. The wicked were heading for destruction, but Asaph was heading to glory. God had reserved something good for Asaph! The very best. Himself. Asaph delighted in his relationship with the Lord.

“Nevertheless, I am continually with You; You have taken hold of my right hand. With Your counsel You will guide me, and afterward receive me to glory. Whom have I in heaven but You? And besides You, I desire nothing on earth. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever…as for me, the nearness of God is my good; I have made the Lord GOD my refuge, that I may tell of all Your works.” 

The word “strength” in verse 26 (“God is the strength of my heart…”) means “rock”…as in, “God is the rock of my heart.” We ought not set our hearts on riches, ease, temporal and earthly happiness or any other slippery thing, but the solid rock of God Himself. His nearness is our good – how incomparably higher and better than the false prosperity the wicked enjoy for now, that we so easily find ourselves envious of.

Celebrate the nearness of the Lord today! Whatever your earthly portion may be, know that God Himself is our inheritance.

“God is the inheritance of the saints; he is the portion of their souls. God is their wealth and treasure, their food, their life, their dwelling place, their ornament and diadem, and their everlasting honor and glory.” – Jonathan Edwards

❤ jc

2 thoughts on “Asaph’s Inheritance…& Ours!

  1. I sent this onto the leader of our Bible study. It is written very well as usual. He has gifted you with this way of sharing His word. Love you and hope this was OK. Gma Kris

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

