Let’s Make Something Beautiful

Lately my oldest, my sweet and energetic girl, has somewhat outgrown the afternoon nap that mommy has depended upon (very heavily!!!! agh!! ha!). She only needs a nap maybe every third day. We’re sort of working out the kinks and trying a new schedule where she either naps or reads for an hour or so, and then gets to come out of her room and have some quiet play or help mommy work.

She.has.loved.it. 

Okay, I have too…though I’m still somewhat reluctant about sharing my afternoons! Our time together – just the two of us! – has been really good for us both. She feels like such a big girl, being awake while her brothers sleep, and she is delighted to have mommy to herself for a while.

One day this week I let her get up early and she came bounding out of her bedroom, glowing with joy, and asked “What beautiful thing are we going to make today, Mama?!”

It was so sweet and funny, and I loved her perception of what mommies do while babies nap. We make beautiful things. (Duh! 🙂 ) That day we didn’t have any terribly exciting crafts or projects to work on, but as she and I swept the kitchen and put the dishes away, we were bringing order to the kitchen and making it beautiful. As we were getting supper started, we were making a (simple) beautiful meal to care for our family. We sorted too-big and too-small clothes out of the kids’ closet together, working toward a more useful, beautiful wardrobe. And, when our tasks were completed and the boys were still snoozing, we read some clever and pretty A.A. Milne poetry, enjoying the beautiful rhyme and rhythm of her words.

All of these things, done together with my sweet girl, made our day so beautiful. 

It really is a privilege to fully occupy myself with making things beautiful…making my home a beautiful place, bringing beautiful moments to our family time, and working together with the Lord to allow Him to beautify our hearts.

mtb

I was inspired by my daughter’s perception – that mommies make beautiful things. I felt like Snow White or some other magical princess – singing happily while everything I touch becomes vibrant and lovely (though our reality does not quite look like *that*! ha!)! Sometimes the work seems drudgery, but I want to keep an artist’s perspective: there is something beautiful happening here. I need to believe that every day. I need to see, with spiritual eyes, from a creator’s (the Creator’s?) nurturing, life-giving vantage. For my family, I am the Lord’s instrument, caring for them and making beautiful things for them to enjoy. And, even when things aren’t pristine and pretty – I know I can love on my family and make their day absolutely beautiful.

Even our simplest efforts are beautiful in the Lord’s sight. Make something beautiful today! 😉

❤ jc

What gain has the worker from his toil? I have seen the business that God has given to the children of man to be busy with. He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end. I perceived that there is nothing better for them than to be joyful and to do good as long as they live; also that everyone should eat and drink and take pleasure in all his toil—this is God’s gift to man. {from Ecclesiastes 3}

One thought on “Let’s Make Something Beautiful

  1. Love this! I can just see her bounding out to be with her mommy and to make something beautiful…awesome, to make lovely from the mundane…HE is using you in so many ways….especially as you grow up those youngsters.Gma Kris

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

