Just Another Thursday

Sooo…

Today there was the fall-from-the-top-bunk incident.

Also, the dishwashing-helper-turned-kitchen-flooder incident.

There was the “Mmm..probably I don’t want to do that,”-in-response-to-mommy’s-instruction incident.

Oh, and the toddler-SAT-ON-BABY’S-HEAD incident.

I also found someone’s lunch hidden in a napkin. And half a roll of toilet paper all over the bedroom floor being used to bandage injured baby dolls.

It was my first day “back on the job” you could say – after a nice long stretch of having my hubby and other family around to help with the kids, meals, etc. It was a little nutty, and I probably should have gone to bed *much* earlier (say, 5pm!). I’m still recovering from being sick and feeling weak from that, plus the kids tend to be a little rowdier after vacations…:) Anyway, this day was nuts. Certifiably nuts. And, regardless of the fact that I have barely even scooted from the couch in the last several hours (nor do I hope to anytime soon!), I am really happy to be back.

Back to the routine, back to the struggle. Back to the day-to-day, the ups-and-downs, the “normal” with my babies. I loved making them hot chocolate this morning (a sort of special ‘guilt-free/healthy’ version!). I loved sitting around the breakfast table, unhurried, laughing while they pretended to drink coffee like mama, their crazy bed-head hair looking as hilarious as their chatter sounds. I loved cuddling up on the couch and reading together, one element of our routine I’ve missed the most. I loved being there to have an important conversation with my oldest about heaven, hell, and salvation through faith in Christ. I loved watching the baby try out his legs in his jumper, and hearing his big brother say “You’re my precious baby wubber (brother).” I know I won’t regret the time I spent this afternoon showing my toddlers how to put away their clean clothes.

It was a pretty normal day…4 loads of laundry, lots of nursing and re-filling sippy cups, a less-than-5-stars dinner of mac-n-cheese and apple slices! 🙂 …my limbs are heavy and it was a bit of a harsh “re-entry” but I’m pretty happy to be back at it. Maybe not if you had asked me at 11:30 or 4:30…but now that they’re in bed and the dishes have been washed and I’m headed for hot tea and a bath and a book (if the baby goes down well! LOL!)? Definitely. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Just Another Thursday

  1. I found myself saying to my mom (after the house was finally clean) after the holidays that every year I am surprised by how glad I am for the return of normal, everday living. I find a lot of comfort in routine, even if it may be “boring.” Thanks for sharing. I’m working a little harder at seeing the special moments in the everyday routine.

  2. Hi Jordan! My name is Heather and I wanted to know if you would be willing to answer my question about your blog! Please email me at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂

Leave a Reply

