on graduating

Commencement was this past Friday, Dec. 13…what a day! We had a great little crew of family and friends, in spite of snowy, icy roads and it felt like a fitting celebration. I felt so awkward, having a day that was kind of “about me” – but the more I thought about it, the more it felt so right to celebrate with all the people who have been a part of making it happen. I think every graduate feels indebted to certain people for their guidance, help, encouragement, etc…but I have more to thank than most, I’m certain! It has been a long and hard road! (some of that described here!) Yet God has been faithful.

IMG_3590

IMG_3591

We have had incredible support from family and friends through prayer, encouragement, babysitting, financial support and more. Nels has encouraged me many times when I felt like giving up, and he often watched the babies or helped with household things after putting in his own big day of work and school. Many times I thought finishing my degree was a dream to kiss goodbye – so it was amazing and satisfying to have it finally completed. And, more importantly, I was thankful that God gave us wisdom in how to do it in a way that would not leave us with the burden of regrets from giving our children too little hands-on time and attention with mommy (people speak of “quality time” – but I’ve heard it said, and agree, that there is no quality time apart from the investment of quantity time!).

IMG_3651

Anyway, I love being a student, and though I’m relieved to say farewell to the pressure of deadlines and finals and tests, I will miss taking classes and interacting with the professors and other students. I feel a sense of joy and accomplishment, and I’m happy that God enabled me to finish what I started way back in 2007, before marriage and 3 babies was even in the picture! I’m grateful to have learned so much about God and His Word, and to have met hundreds of incredible people – my husband! – plus a small handful of dear and intimate friends, many of whom have graduated before me and have gone out to serve the Lord in various places (even Sudan, India, etc!). I’m happy and proud to be among the MBTS alumni. 😉

IMG_3632

Proverbs 4:7 says, “Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.” I’m thankful for the opportunity to gain a solid foundation and to grow in wisdom through this college education and experience. With God’s help, the rest of my life will be a continuation of that search for wisdom.

Thank you so much, to all of our friends and family who have been invaluable in cheering us on in this pursuit and every other that God has set before us! Our hearts are overflowing with thankfulness.

IMG_3659

❤ jc

Leave a Reply

