on shoplifting and getting my ‘fix’…

Shopping has never been something that I’ve been great at. Or had a good attitude about. (ASK MY MOTHER!)

So it comes as no surprise that shopping for clothes is challenging as a mother of three, who are all 3 1/2 and younger.

I’ve found it to be a huge task to make sure each of them has a coat, hat, boots, church clothes, play clothes, undies, socks (who am I kidding, we never have socks!) & jammies…in their appropriate sizes, which are changing all the time! Then when you throw in trying to find clothes for me…and my changing size and tastes…plus our shoestring budget…ohh and limited time…yikes! It’s nearly impossible.

But I decided I was up for the challenge. (that and i was over wearing ill-fitting maternity clothes 24/7)

I went shopping…for me…with all 3 kids in tow.

And boy, was there drama. I was determined that we would have a great time, but when one said “I NEEEEDDDD A POTTY!” and there was no public restroom in at least a few blocks, I knew the time crunch was on.

I thought I would pick out a few things, try them on at home and bring back whatever didn’t work another day (hello, headache). And, thankfully, the store we were at also had a sale going on for toddler boy’s jeans (what mom heads out shopping for herself and doesn’t come home with kids’ clothing?!)!

The natives were getting restless, and so was I. We needed to check out and roll out. 

But of course, making clothing decisions under pressure is not my forte…plus they over-charged us for some of our items, but I was too frazzled trying to keep racks of clothing from falling in our wake, so I didn’t catch it till later when I realized I spent almost twice what I intended to.

We made it home with only relatively minor meltdowns, and during the kids’ nap time I tried on my finds. I was 1 for 4. Oh well. At least I found jeans for my son, right?!

Fast forward to that evening…we were pumpkin patchin’ with daddy. We pulled our stroller out of the car…and out fell a $14 pack of toddler girls’ leggings. Toddler leggings I had never seen. Toddler leggings that I did not want. Toddler leggings that did not belong to us. My (at the time) almost-2-year-old had already committed a crime.

they look so innocent.

they look so innocent. NOT.

After my husband got done judging me for shoplifting/allowing my children to shoplift, I returned our unwanted items, plus our un-paid-for item, and decided it would be best to wait for a while before trying to go clothes shopping for myself with my sneaky little ones in tow.

*****

Since then, I’ve gone out shopping several times. It’s been a frantic, stressful experience to say the least. For one thing, I’ve been disappointed in stores that I used to love (are they just ‘off’ this season? are my tastes changing? whatev). Also, my body has changed so much in the last few years, and I’m more particular about how things fit (and how they do or don’t work with nursing!). The hours out alone come at a pretty high price – time away from my family, leaving the kids either with my husband or a babysitter – and I prefer to spend my alone hours doing something a little more fun and relaxing for me. After several unsuccessful shopping ventures, I decided I needed a new plan of attack.

I was really excited to find/remember Stitch Fix. It’s an online personal styling service for women. Basically, you fill out a style profile, indicating your preferences, size, budget, etc…(you can even link to your Pinterest style board to help describe what you like!) and they send you a box of 5 things that a personal stylist selects just for you! You purchase what you like, and mail back (in prepaid USPS envelope) whatever you don’t. You can order a ‘fix’ whenever you need, or set it up to come every month. I’ve read some rave reviews on different blogs, and more here. It’s $20 to get started, and that is credited toward your purchases. Want to try it with me?! Sign up here.

I’ll let try to post and let you know what I think after I get my box next month! I’m really excited and hopeful.

…and until then, I’m avoiding shopping, and double-checking my stroller when we do go out!! 😉

8 thoughts on “on shoplifting and getting my ‘fix’…

  1. Lol. I remember my mom making Mason (at 4 years old) return stickers he had stolen and apologize to a Walmart clerk when I was little. Shopping and I…oy. Can’t wait to hear about your experience with stitch fix!

  2. This made me chuckle out loud–in complete empathy! Oh, how I remember the rare occasions when I tried to take the littles shopping with me. Trying to keep everyone quiet and happy for just a few minutes, crying in the stroller, letting them out for a moment, then having Natalie and Seth hide in the middle of a round clothing rack and I had several stressful seconds of having no idea where they were. And, yes, I always came home with something for them, instead of me too! Love the idea of Stitch Fix and will be eager to know how you like it. Let me also encourage you that the season you are in is fleeting. Believe it or not, there will come a day when you can walk out the door alone for a few hours and have no worries (well, almost none) that the house will burn down or some catastrophe will happen while you are gone. In the meantime, I know there are times you just need to shop. You are a great mama, my friend. Hang in there! 🙂

  3. Oh my….love this! I can totally see it. I am with you in the clothing/does it work for nursing, etc. I am very interested to hear what you think of the Stitch Fix. 🙂

  4. Pingback: a quick update…:) | jordan cristine | a day in the life

  5. Pingback: Stitch Fix Review | jordan cristine | a day in the life

Leave a Reply

