Grace Upon Grace

You never realize you forgot something until you remember it again.

I was stunned to be so stunned by the words of a friend:

“But you know, there’s grace for you too.”

I was carrying on again about how I needed to do better, to try harder, to extend more and love more. A common theme in my thoughts and conversation is how I am always falling short and how various situations “are probably just my fault.”

Probably true. BUT – there’s grace for me too.

I literally felt dumb founded, like the thought of grace for me had never even crossed my mind. As a Christian, grace is like the first and only word in the book for me! It’s by grace that we are saved through faith – a free gift of God (Ephesians 2). And yet his grace is abundant, providing salvation and forgiveness of sin past and giving power for life now. I so need that!

Defining grace with Merriam-Webster:

a : unmerited divine assistance given humans for their regeneration or sanctification b : a virtue coming from Godc : a state of sanctification enjoyed through divine grace

2
a : approvalfavor <stayed in his good graces>b archaic : mercypardonc : a special favor : privilege <each in his place, by right, notgrace, shall rule his heritage — Rudyard Kipling>d : disposition to or an act or instance of kindness, courtesy, or clemencye : a temporary exemption : reprieve
3
a: a charming or attractive trait or characteristicb: a pleasing appearance or effect :charm <all the grace of youth — John Buchan>c: ease and suppleness of movement or bearing

Oftentimes I wonder, “How will I get through it? What if I can’t…?” I don’t think I’m strong enough or positive enough or loving or healthy or motivated enough to be a great wife, mom, student, etc. The apostle Paul had similar concerns as he wondered how he would be able to endure his thorn in the flesh. I wonder if he sometimes feared failure the way I do?  Jesus said to him, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” (2 Cor. 12) I need this grace, this power granted to the weak. I need His divine assistance to walk in love, joy, and faith, to serve my family humbly again today. Grace to forgive, to root out bitterness, to be obedient to Christ’s call.

The odds seem always stacked against me, but if God grants grace – what are odds compared to sovereignty?

John Piper says, “Grace is power for Christian living. Grace is the power to treasure all that God is for us in Jesus. Grace is the power to love all whom God loves. Grace is the power to pray for all God’s purposes. Grace is the power to meditate on all God’s Word. We are utterly dependent on grace…

God’s infinite, overflowing, stemming-from-love grace gives us first the incomparable gift of salvation, and then it overflows and heaps over in abundance so that it extends also into our lives in him. If His grace is powerful enough to raise us up from the dead, it is certainly powerful enough to give us what we need for living. He gives us…

Grace to work hard. (1 Corinthians 15:10)

Grace for living with simplicity and godly sincerity. (2 Corinthians 1:12)

Grace to be generous. (2 Corinthians 8:7-10)

Grace to make us abound in every good work. (2 Corinthians 9:8)

Grace to preach the unsearchable riches of Christ. (Ephesians 3:8)

Grace for eternal comfort and good hope. (2 Thessalonians 2:16)

Grace for help in time of need. (Hebrews 4:16)

I’ve heard about grace all my life, but this week it was fresh manna again. I needed it brand-new. And I experienced it brand-new. What a gracious God we serve!

He is alive today and still pouring out grace abundantly.

❤ jc

 “For from his fullness we have all received, grace upon grace. For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.” (John 1:16-17)

“Grace is the unmerited favor of God shown to man primarily in the person and work of Jesus Christ…(related/stemming from) the love of God who is love.” – Charles Ryrie

One thought on “Grace Upon Grace

  1. Amen Jordan! Without His grace non of us could make it … I like “The Ragamuffin Gospel” by Brenan Manning … Al had it aboard Barnaby when we were first married and I read it then … praying for abundant joy as your family grows! love from Gillian and Al

Leave a Reply

