Meditations on the 23rd Psalm

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures,

He leads me beside still waters.

He restores my soul.

He leads me in paths of righteousness, for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil,

for you are with me;

your rod and your staff,

they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me

in the presence of my enemies;

you anoint my head with oil;

my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life

and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

Jesus is my Shepherd – I have no lack of any thing. He is my all in all and provides for every need, physically, emotionally, spiritually, financially, etc.

He makes me lie down in green pastures. He brings rainy, cold, snowy late April days to keep my busy feet at home – to rest, to be still, to focus and be renewed. I am thankful.

He leads me beside still waters that nourish. If I feel the waters in my life are tempestuous, is it possible I am not being led by the Shepherd, but have turned aside? Am I surrounded by rapids and rushing waters because, as a wandering sheep, I have left his side? He alone provides the water that truly quenches the ravenous thirst of the human soul.

Even when my soul is damaged by the world, my own sin and the devil, my good Shepherd restores. When my soul is weary, troubled, or discouraged, He longs to restore it to perfect peace in Him.

I do not know where the right paths are, but He does. He leads me not for my own sake, but for the sake of His glorious name. I need not fear the direction of my life or worry about what days ahead may bring since I can trust that He will lead me to walk in righteousness, for His name’s sake. This infuses every day with such magnificent purpose!

I may walk through the valley of the shadow of death, and some of my worst fears may be realized. Hard days are real, painful difficulties in life are real, and my own inadequacies are real too. And yet – I have no need to fear, because the Shepherd walks with me – through sadness, loneliness, depression, deep sorrow, etc.

Evil is no threat! God is ever-present in my life.

His reproof and correction, His gentle and poignant reminders or truth, His sometimes painful chastisements – these encourage me. For then I know He is mine, and I am his.

You celebrate with me, triumphing over my enemies! I don’t know of any specific people who are my enemies – but I know there are forces in the heavenly realms that would destroy me and sometimes I feel their presence. But Satan and his will for my life will be disappointed as you – despite myself! – help me to experience victory in You.

My cup overflows. I have everything I need. All the life, love, joy and strength – you fill me up.

I believe that my days will be filled with Your tender and rich mercy. I will dwell in the house of the LORD, worshipping Him! Now and forever.

❤ jc

P.S. Kaya and I are working on learning Psalm 23 in ASL. It’s really fun! Here’s the video tutorial.

4 thoughts on “Meditations on the 23rd Psalm

  1. ” Hard days are real, painful difficulties in life are real, and my own inadequacies are real too. And yet – I have no need to fear, because the Shepherd walks with me – through sadness, loneliness, depression, deep sorrow, etc.”

    Really needed to read that today! Thanks for always posting such insightful things. Love you!

  2. I absolutely love these verses. Can not wait to see you & Kaya do them. It gives me great joy to know that you and your family love & embrace our saviour…..In HIM. Gma Kris

Leave a Reply

