on books that i’m reading (or want to be reading!)

Let it be known, I am a dreamer.

I have a list of many, many books that I want to read, and I also have a very, very full life!

But it is a deep desire of mine to continue to grow as a person, to grow in faith, and to live a life full of inspiration, creativity and joy. I really believe reading excellent books is a huge part of living this sort of life.

I love reading. I’m hungry for ideas and sharper thinking and beautiful words all strung together. Any book that seems to me to be intriguing, inspiring, challenging, etc…I want to devour it. I love having a good mix of fiction and non-fiction, classics, works from modern authors, Christian living, etc. If I start it and it turns out to be boring?…I abandon it pretty quickly. There’s only so much time for reading in life, and too many wonderful things to read to waste hours, right?!

Here are some things that have made it to my night stand (or will be arriving soon!)…

count123book

1. “Don’t Make Me Count to Three” by Ginger Plowman. A friend recommended this excellent, practical book on parenting a child’s heart, and not just their behaviors. I’ve not finished it yet, and may share a review later. So far I’ve been very challenged to grow as a mother in how I train my children and teach them about the condition of their hearts and who Jesus is. I really appreciate that Plowman shares specific examples along with principles for training and discipline.

OutOfTheSilentPlanet

2. “Out of the Silent Planet” by C.S. Lewis. This is the first book of the series including “Perelandra” and “That Hideous Strength” – called the space trilogy. I’m not usually into sci-fi or fantasy and other things, so this type of book is a stretch for me, but I love C.S. Lewis and was determined to re-read this series that I read many years ago and didn’t really remember. Honestly, getting lost in a good fiction work is so refreshing sometimes. Lewis’ imagination is beautiful and there are bits of timeless truth woven skillfully through the story. And, for a life-on-other-planets story, it feels pretty believable as you’re reading it. 🙂

cold_tangerines_cover_op_388x600

3. “Cold Tangerines” by Shauna Niequest. The subtitle of this book is “Celebrating the Extraordinary Nature of Everyday Life”…love! I am passionate about learning how to live well and celebrate even simple moments. This is supposed to be a collection of stories about God and life, and from what I’ve heard, I think the author is really an artist with her life and words. I also look forward to reading her most recent book, “Bread & Wine.

Peacelikeariver

4. “Peace Like A River” by Leif Enger. A while back I saw a very positive review on this book on a blog I read. John Piper and Andrew Peterson both recommend it, and it was an Amazon.com book of the year. It’s in the mail and I am pumped to get it!

thegreatgatsby

5. “The Great Gatsby” by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Considered one of the greatest American novels. Set in the 1920s. “His writings are insightful and stylistically brilliant; today he is admired both as a social chronicler and a remarkably gifted artist” (from Amazon.com biography). Also in the mail. 😉

pilgrimsprogress

6. Pilgrim’s Progress” by John Bunyan. Who am I kidding? I’m always reading this book. Partly because it takes me forever to get through it, and partly because it is one of those epic works of rich meaning that demands to be read and re-read. It’s on my iPod and I have a hard copy in my backpack. It’s definitely one of my all-time favorites. I am constantly struck by the incredible dangers of Christian’s journey, and how completely worth it it is.

wordsmithy

7. “Wordsmithy” by Douglas Wilson. As much as I love reading brilliant writing, I also want to strengthen my own writing skills and become a true wordsmith with good command of language. Here is an interesting review. Hoping to dive into this one sometime soon.

edgesofhisways

8. “Edges of His Ways” by Amy Carmichael. This is a book of daily reading selections. I have been really blessed by Carmichael’s faith and writings and I hope to go deeper with the Lord while reading this devotional.

What are you reading, or wanting to read? Have you finished anything really wonderful lately? Any further recommendations? Have you read any of these books that I am currently reading/aspiring to read? 🙂 

Hope you’re having a great week friends!

jordan cristine

One thought on “on books that i’m reading (or want to be reading!)

  1. I was just thinking about posting some books on my reading list…like you, there are always more books than I have time for! I love Don’t Make Me Count to Three and you’re right, Pilgrim’s Progress is a book to read again and again. I’m super interested in that Peace Like a River book! Gonna have to request it from the library. Thanks for sharing your list!

Leave a Reply

