Goals for Growing Older {Reflections on Life and Turning 24}

I am so thankful and blessed and my heart is feeling full ~

What a richly-colored, brilliant experience life has been.

On Friday I turned 24 and I can’t help but reflect on the marvelous people I’ve known (and know), beautiful places I’ve lived and visited, difficulties I’ve learned from and been shaped by, answered prayers and miracles I’ve seen.

apricot blossoms that survived last night's storm

apricot blossoms that survived last night’s storm

What more could a soul want?

But if God should grant me another 24 – or any number of years – I pray that in those ahead…

I would be quicker to listen, slower to speak, and slower to become angry.

I would encourage more than I complain.

I would rediscover my love for playing/writing music. 

I would see my children grow in wisdom and in stature, and in favor with God and men.

I would not shrink back from suffering, but courageously enter into such “light and momentary afflictions.” (2 Corinthians 4:17)

I would pour myself more willingly into loving my husband, my family, the lost. 

I would learn to work, rest, and celebrate well.

I would become a more nurturing, hospitable woman.

I would read good books, hike in beautiful and challenging places, be inspired to create meaningful art.

I would see lives changed and redeemed, as His kingdom comes and His will is done on the earth.

I would be come a woman dedicated to prayer.

I would count all things as loss, for the sake of knowing Jesus. 

I would “know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.” (Philippians 3:10-11)

Sometimes I fear what could lie ahead in life. There are so many dangers and sorrows and trials that people go through. Why should I be exempt? I know I will not.

And yet –

“Eye has not seen, nor ear heard,
Nor have entered into the heart of man
The things which God has prepared for those who love Him.”

{1 Corinthians 2:9}

Certainly some of the things which God has prepared are to be received in hardship, but “Should we accept good only from God and not adversity?” (Job 2:10) And oh, how much higher His thoughts are than ours! How wise He is, to use everything for good in our lives as we live out our calling.

I am eager to see the things that God has prepared for me, and for all of us. He is accomplishing His redemptive purposes on the earth! He is accomplishing His redemptive purposes in our hearts.

❤ jordan

P.S. THANK YOU FOR ALL THE WONDERFUL BIRTHDAY WISHES, TEXTS, PHONE CALLS, ETC! I was phone-less and internet-less for several days last week and I’m so sorry if I missed you.

P.S.S. Have you read “A Psalm of Life” by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow? I hope you will! Find it here.

Leave a Reply

