Africa on the Brain…

Our family is really excited about Nels’ plans to spend a bit over 2 weeks in Africa in a few months…you can read about that here: Mozambique Mission Trip 2013.

We are also in a big time of transition for our family and are praying about what God would have next for us. Could it be a life in Africa, sharing the gospel with the unreached? I don’t know, but I am excited to see what God has in store. Those of you who have known me for any length of time might say that it is something of a dream come true to be possibly moving to Africa. And I would say, it seems kind of unreal. And everything is in very elementary stages – so who knows? It is hard for me to get very pumped about anything because we have been through so many interviews only for something to fall through or for God to lead us elsewhere…I don’t think I’ll truly believe that we are moving until we’re ‘in the truck’ if you know what I mean!

But it really is crazy thinking about moving to Africa. My responses are so mixed. I must say it is a completely different matter considering a life in a foreign country when you have children. A whole new crop of fears sprouts up and threatens to uproot faith – but I trust that this is an opportunity for us to diligently sow in faith. Whether God tells us to ‘go’ or ‘stay’ I know my heart needs to be willing.

Willing to give up safety. Financially, physically, etc.

Willing to give up comfort.

Willing to give up having family close.

Willing to give up all that is ‘home’…here.

I know that if God calls us to Africa there will be huge battles to fight in the spiritual realm. Part of me is very motivated by the challenge. But my flesh and my selfish mind also hold tight to fearful thoughts. I am digging in deep, trusting that if He calls us there – my kids are in His hands, my health is in His hands, my husband is in His hands, our finances are in his hands…and our lives are but a breath, and we should spend them bringing glory to Him. I cannot imagine a more fulfilling, joyful life…

In Mozambique, or in Missouri.

❤ jc

“Faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen…By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out to a place that he was to receive as an inheritance. And he went out, not knowing where he was going. By faith he went to live in the land of promise, as in a foreign land, living in tents with Isaac and Jacob, heirs with him of the same promise. For he was looking forward to the city that has foundations, whose designer and builder is God.” [from Hebrews 11]

P.S.: respond with me, in faith, and pray for us? 🙂

4 thoughts on “Africa on the Brain…

Leave a Reply

