one week in october

Where to begin?

In the last few weeks I rejoiced receiving a text from my cousin – ‘in labor!’ Her baby boy Aiden was born later that day. Another friend just gave birth to her first child and I was privileged to be one of her “labor coaches” and celebrate with her and her family. Several friends found out happy news – one expecting a baby, another excited about finding a great ministry opportunity. This weekend I am throwing a bridal shower for my sister and attending the ordination ceremony of my husband’s friend. Hudson’s been taking his precious first steps.

There has also been a lot of difficult news to take in recently. A sweet friend with kids the same ages as ours found out she has cancer. She’s too young to have to hear that word and deal with all of its implications. Another friend got news that her father, who has never smoked in his life, has stage-4 lung cancer and it’s spreading in other parts of his body. And, most heartbreaking, one of my dearest friends found out that her 16-year-old brother took his own life.

It seems like it always happens like this.

The pain and the triumph.

The agony and the joy.

The mourning and the celebration.

I wish I had profound thoughts or words but I’m just a huge mess of nerves and emotions and everything raw.

I’m trusting God to bring Himself glory through all of this…and to carry all of us through in the meantime. And I really look forward to heaven, when there is no more sorting through the dichotomy of sin nature and the broken world all mixed in with redemption through Jesus. There all will be redeemed, and the only thing on our minds and hearts will be: Holy, holy, holy…

“Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, bright as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb through the middle of the street of the city; also, on either side of the river, the tree of lifewith its twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit each month. The leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations. No longer will there be anything accursed, but the throne of God and of the Lamb will be in it, and his servants will worship him. They will see his face, and his name will be on their foreheads. And night will be no more. They will need no light of lamp or sun, for the Lord God will be their light, and they will reign forever and ever.” {Revelation 22:1-5}

“Behold, I am coming soon…”

4 thoughts on “one week in october

  1. I have seem your post this week and I can see the variety of emotions. Thanks for always writing about hope and Christ! It is very encouraging! You have a beautiful and divine writing gift! I stopped my busy day for few mins and pray for you! Blessings!

  2. I know you hurt with those who hurt and celebrate those having joy! Jesus shows us how to do this. I think of Mary & Martha as they lost their brother….and Jesus felt so saddened for them. Even though he later raised Lazarus….He hurt for them. As you have said so eloquently we can trust in Him for all things. Even when we cannot understand the situation. Sometimes it is only with the faith of a mustard seed. His word is so awsome and we can count on it….again, even when we don’t really understand it. So sorry for your friend’s loss…makes me ache to think of the loss. So good she knows the Lord and can hold onto Him. In HIM.

  3. Jordan, I love you and your heart! I wish this week had only been a celebratory one. Thank you for keeping us in your prayers and being so encouraging. Take a break from all the heartaches and enjoy your day tomorrow! and keep posting pictures of those babies! They bring happiness to my heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

