“…but by My Spirit.”

“Not by strength or by might, but by My Spirit, says the LORD of Hosts.” {Zechariah 4:6} 

As I read these words today, I was so struck by them. I rolled them over and over in my mind, then on my tongue…they are beautiful but strikingly so, and kind of painful the way they strike right through the heart, as the piercingly truthful Word of God always does.

After saying that victory comes by His Spirit, God says ‘What are you, o great mountain?’ (vs. 7) The oldest and grandest and strongest of nature is of no account before the Spirit of the Lord moving in His people.

The book of Zechariah is beautiful. The visions that God gave to the prophet were meant to encourage the people as they were rebuilding the wall in Jerusalem, and to prophecy about Jesus’ coming to earth.

And still today the words of the prophet Zechariah are encouraging, because Jesus has come. The Spirit is still at work. We still work and trust not in horses or chariots but in the name of the LORD, in whose name we are called, by whose spirit we live and move and have our being.

“Not by strength or by might, but by My Spirit, says the LORD of Hosts.” {Zechariah 4:6} 

 Today…
Do I trust in my own energy and efforts to raise my children? Or do I trust in the Spirit of God to move through me in making them disciples?
Do I trust in my clever ideas and hard work to help our church grow? Or do I trust the Spirit of God to cause the growth, as we plant and water the seed?
Do I rely on my own strength in my marriage to make things better? Or do I depend on the Spirit to help me bless and encourage my spouse in the most effective manner?
“Not by strength or by might, but by My Spirit, says the LORD of Hosts.” {Zechariah 4:6} 
Oh, that we would be filled with the Spirit of the Living God.
The mountains are made plains before Him.
Leave a Reply

