Summer ’12 FAVORITES.

We just got back from vacation and I want to cry my eyes out. Already done my fair share of that though, and it’s time to pull my act together…{no no please take me back to the wilderness and the mountains and keep all this responsibility and chaos far from me!!!}

ahem.

anyway.

I wanted to share with you a few of my recent favorite things. I am actually quite obsessed with several of them…come share my joy!

1. Every Kingdom by Ben Howard – complete obsession. when i listen to this i am transported back to driving in the New Mexico mountains with the windows down and my hand playing with the 70 degree breeze. ben howard is marvelous. this is the soundtrack of summer. and the mountains. and every other good thing. here’s a youtube video with an special performance of one of my most-listened to songs on this album:

2. Kakawa Chocolate House. you read it right. chocolate house. incredible. i stumbled upon this place near the santa fe plaza while out to explore with kaya and hudson. we sampled some drinking elixirs, and took some truffles and caramels up to our cabin to share with nels. especially loved the earl gray truffle and salted caramel. even better – this place ships just about anywhere. if you love complex, bold dark chocolates, you will love kakawa. check out their website for great gift ideas or a special occasion treat! 

3. Pride and Prejudice. i finally read the book. ohh, what decadence! i loved every page and felt like i was at the spa or some luxurious place while turning the pages. i was hooked from the opening line: “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” such a beautiful read!

4. Jesus Gave Us Baptism. this sermon from Mark Driscoll kept me alive and awake while driving through eastern Colorado and western Kansas during ungodly hours. i love Pastor Mark’s clarity on this issue (and others) and how he always comes back to JESUS and loving him. it is a great explanation of what baptism is, why we do it, how it should be done, who can be baptized, etc. nothing like getting pumped up about Jesus at 1am, feeling like singing but trying desperately to keep quiet for fear of waking slumbering infant passengers…:)

5. New Mexico. i love it. i miss it. i now daydream of living in a quaint adobe in the high desert. i didn’t want to shower when i got home because i felt like i would wash all the piney-cedar-goodness out of my skin (no worries…my husband forced me to..maybe i was just too lazy/exhausted lol). i will have to share more about our trip another time, but here are a few snappies of new mexico:

our deck in pecos

coming down from taos

mountains near angel fire, nm

6. Loves. and what list of favorites would be complete without mentioning my dear hubby and children? ;-P it’s been a delight to spend so much time with them in the last two weeks…

 Sincerely,

Going Through Withdrawal

p.s. what are your summer ’12 favorites??

2 thoughts on “Summer ’12 FAVORITES.

  1. I’ve never heard of Ben Howard before now, but I like the song you posted so i will have to look him up! And I can’t believe you haven’t read pride and prejudice before now! It’s one of my favorites. I have to reread it every so often.
    Love and miss you guys!!

Leave a Reply

