You’re Welcome.

Ever since my little man realized he could use his tiny fingers to put Cheerios in his mouth…

…he puts random things in his mouth that he apparently finds on my floors?!

Like clods of dirt from daddy’s boots and sister’s crumpled up stickers.

[At one time in my life I thought vacuuming once a week was above and beyond the call of duty – well, no more!]

Of course this is disgusting and quite hazardous – humans were not made to ingest dirt (or whatever else was stuck to daddy’s boots??!!) and that sticker was most certainly designed for suffocating small infants, I’m sure of it.

Well, being the loving mother that I am, I 1) attempt to keep the floors clean-ish and remove potential choking hazards as I find them throughout the day and 2) periodically remove said disgusting choking hazards from infant boy’s mouth and/or throat.

Hudson’s response to my life-saving efforts?

1) Biting – so as to keep my fingers out of his mouth and keep his choking hazard in, and

2) Screaming – letting me know full well that I have ruined his life, stolen his joy and generally just want terrible things for him.

can you see the stinker-ness just oozing from him? 😛

No thankfulness for my heroic interventions. No understanding that I love him and am on constant Hudson-preservation-alert not because I particularly enjoy policing situations, but because I want him to live a long, happy, healthy life.

I’ve always heard that your children can teach you a lot about God. It’s true. I’ve never felt so sympathetic with Him and His love for us – and how we so often kick and scream when he steps in to empty our mouth of whatever foul thing we found on the floor.

I hope that as God prunes things from my life and continually removes the filth and refines me I will remember these moments with Hudson and trust that He loves me this much and more…

[I love this little one to pieces – how great must our Father’s love be for us?]

…maybe I’ll squawk and scream a little less and remember that He’s been faithful to me thus far!

And for now I’ll endure the screaming and do my best to keep this little almost-9-month-old baby boy from choking.

You’re welcome, Hudson.

__________

Ephesians 2:4-5 But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, evenwhen we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ— by grace you have been saved—

One thought on “You’re Welcome.

Leave a Reply

