brain dump.

some things on my mind:

1. finished. 

I just finished reading Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy by Eric Metaxas.  Everyone around me is probably sick of it already. Somehow every little thought, event, topic at hand, etc. reminds me of something in this book. Rarely have I felt that my life was being so shaped by a book (and I think it will continue to be). What an incredible, inspiring account of Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s life, theology, friends, family, bravery and death! It is also an interesting historical perspective on Hitler, Nazi Germany and Christianity in Germany. Metaxas is a phenomenal writer. I found myself laughing and crying, and feeling like I was a part of Bonhoeffer’s life and the resistance against Hitler (it was agonizing to know that their assassination attempts would all fail! I found myself praying “with” them…). My faith was challenged and strengthened reading this book. I feel challenged also by the brilliant writing of Metaxas. He always seems to choose the absolute best, right word.

2. next up.

A much shorter, simpler read this time…”Treasuring God in Our Traditions” by Noel Piper. I have read about half of it just this weekend and am encouraged and sharpened on several levels…more on that later…:) Noel Piper also wrote one of our favorite children’s books, “Most of All, JESUS Loves You.”

3. lost.

Nels and I are both feeling a bit at a loss about where God is leading us to next. Not a desperate, miserable loss, but a curious, wondering, hopeful loss. We just don’t know what He’s doing, but, our eyes on are Him:

[We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you. – 2 Chronicles 20:12]

i’ll keep ya updated in that regard, as our faith becomes sight!

4. exciting find.

this cake with cream cheese frosting just came out of the oven, because i needed an excuse to use my new pampered chef decorators set! a $4.98 thrift store find, all in original packaging! i am excited to learn this new skill 🙂

5. fun (busy) times.

we had a weekend visit with Nels’ sister & fam…

then we had a weekend away at the Lake of the Ozarks for a Yellow Ribbon event…

..and since we were relatively close to the Carlson farm, we stopped in!

this week we snuck in a fun date night…

…and went fishing by the MO river, where i caught a fish that was significantly larger than my brother’s close-but-not-close-enough fish.

Nels is soon leaving for a week in Louisiana, and I am looking forward to celebrating Father’s Day with my dad, my sister’s 21st birthday, and a short trip to visit more relatives. All my ideas about a relaxing, slower summer have not gone out the window, they are just looking slightly different than I expected…:)

6. parkles.

this week my Kaya-love told me i have “parkles” (sparkles) in my eyes. meltmystinkinheart.  ha! so sweet. we’re in love. 😉

7. homemade.

recently i made some hand soap and laundry detergent at home (for fun, but it has been saving us money too!) and i am planning to make some fabric softener too. i don’t like how frequently we are running to the store for things, so it’s nice to know how to do a couple of these things, plus its really simple and a lot cheaper than buying store-bought. here are some recipes if you’d like to try it: detergent, hand soap, fabric softener. I’d like to try this fake-Febreeze sometime soon too.

yep, thats about all! happy monday to you, friends.

hope you have a fantastic week!

jc

6 thoughts on “brain dump.

  1. Read life together by Bonhoeffer. Possibly my favorite book, and its super short. lol Can’t wait to see you guys!!

  2. We just ran out of hand soap in our bathroom and I’ve been dreading having to buy more! Perfect timing! I love making what I can! It limits the trips to the store and so when I do go, I’m going mostly for food! Now I just have to pray that I can find the right type of soap!

    • Every time I go to the store I think “I’ll never have to come back again!” And then a day later I am back. UGH! lol…I just used a bar that someone gave me for Christmas…turned out a little goopy, but i like it a lot.

  3. Your post made me smile … love your photos … praying for the Lord’s leading for you … I remember reading the diary of Jim Elliot that had an effect on my life … maybe you’ll read that some day! … have a great summer.

    • i need to read that one!! for sure. thanks for the recommendation. i have wanted to read it before, i’m not sure how it is that i haven’t yet! hope you both are well..<3

Leave a Reply

