my creative space

The chief enemy of creativity is “good” sense. – Picasso

It might be a little ridiculous and nonsensical that we live in a very small space…and yet I have a little nook carved out for creating. If I’ve learned anything through these apartment years, its to make the best of what you’ve got – and not just wait until your circumstances change.

My little space is right smack in the middle of the hallway, and sometimes gets splattered with yogurt as the toddler’s high chair is right next to it (gag me, right?!).

I don’t often have much time to devote to crafting and creating, but just having this space set up and ready for it adds a bit of color to the simplest things…wrapping a note in lace, making my weekly to-do list a little prettier with markers and doodles, grabbing a paintbrush and joining my little girl in her play…

 Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep. – Scott Adams

And then there’s the occasional nap time when I am either caught up on housework and homework or decide that I don’t care about it and would rather make something…

Creating is so wonderful. I am blown away that God gives us the vision and ability to make things (& I’m not even good at it – but I still love it!). It isn’t the essence of life, but it sure makes it more enjoyable and more beautiful.

I almost died of joy hearing my Kaya say “I need to make something” the other day. Talk about a proud mama moment! 🙂

You can’t wait for inspiration, you have to go after it with a club. – Jack London

I’d love to have all my paper and scrapbook supplies, paints, etc..all out here, but it would probably be overcrowded and too tempting for Kaya (my house is quite intentionally not baby-proofed, but God is gracious to never tempt us beyond what we are able, and I want to show the same grace to my baby girl! Those beautiful papers and stickers just beg to be played with!).
 {please notice the high chair & crumbs on the floor. okay, thanks}
A little silly perhaps, but it is bringing sanity and joy to my life! Promise.
What about you? How do you make time and space for creativity in your life? Do you have a fun place where your art takes shape?
❤ jc
Leave a Reply

