Kaya’s New Apron

I am always surprised and feel a bit lucky when I finish a sewing project and it actually turns out…because I am a super-novice. And I don’t mean that in a super-hero sense, I mean that in an “oh my word I made something and it doesn’t totally suck! hurray!” way. So I was delighted to finish this little toddler apron for Kaya for her 2nd birthday…(never mind that I had intended to have it finished for Christmas!)

…and even more delighted that she loves it.

I found the idea on this blog (on Pinterest originally).

Following patterns is not exactly my strong suit though, and I made several changes. Rather than making my own ruffle, I sewed on one that I had left over from another project. I cut two of each of the pattern pieces (except the belt) so that the whole apron is lined, and rather than sewing the neck straps I used some pink ribbon (that I also used on the pockets for a more coherent look).

The fabric was on clearance at Hobby Lobby.

All in all, a fairly simple and straight forward project, made somewhat complicated by my old machine that likes to randomly get all tangled up inside and sometimes throw in some extra-long stitches (making portions of the apron look like my toddler made it herself! ha!). One of these days I’ll have to invest in a new machine, but for now I really enjoy using my old one that was a birthday gift to my mom when she was a girl. πŸ™‚

Have you been creating anything fun lately?Β 

❀ jordan

P.S. Have you seen the adorable rainbow cake tutorials floating all over the internet? I made one for Kaya’s birthday, again *loosely* following instructions I found on Martha Stewart’s website. It was so bright and fun – and not difficult at all! Although, I must admit, it had a definite lean..:) Uncle Sam called it the “Dennis Rodman’s Head” cake…:/…but anyway, I definitely recommend trying it for a little one’s birthday or other celebration.

4 thoughts on “Kaya’s New Apron

  1. Very cute! Did you make her headband too? It would be a good idea to bring your sewing machine in to be serviced. A simple cleaning may be all it needs. Those old machines last a lot longer than these newer ones do with minimal maintenence.

    • i should do that! is it very expensive to have it cleaned?

      the headband was a gift from grandma kris πŸ™‚ i love it!

  2. You can have my sewing machine!!! which is not getting used much at all…If you guys move, lets put it on the list. I’m downsizing although maybe we could trade in the event Gil or I have to mend. Come see it one day. I am so pleased at the things you’re doing for your family and home. Love you.
    Gma Kris

    • you may like having it more than you think next year if you have a little more time on your hands! πŸ˜‰ otherwise i bet sky would try using one after she graduates, but who knows! thanks grams πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

