A Carlson Life Update: December 2011 Edition :)

It’s been quite a while since I posted some general updates, so here goes! 🙂

Graduation – Nels graduated from Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary with his M.Div last week! Hurrah! As relieved as we both are, I feel rather nostalgic and like I can’t quite believe it is over! His family and mine did a lot to make the graduation and celebration before and afterwards really special. What does God have in store for us next?…I’m dying to know as well! 🙂 We are entering into the exciting and emotionally-exhausting phase of applications & interviews!

Image

the graduate with sister, son & wifey! 🙂

Hudder Butter – That is little Hudson Nathanael’s newest nickname. 🙂 He is a big boy! People are constantly mistaking him for 4 or 5 months old, while he is just 2 1/2 months old. He is beginning to talk a lot more and coo to his mama…he has been a very “particular” baby and a mama’s boy so far. He is starting to give his daddy and sister more attention though, and loves watching Kaya play…he is even enduring her kisses politely sometimes. I am so relieved that he is now up only one time in the night on average…meaning that life is returning to some sort of normalcy and sanity for me. I just love this boy…totally melts me!

Image

Hudson Nathanael @ 2 months

Kaya Abigail – Oh my goodness, she must’ve turned 2 overnight. Not really, but she will be 2 at the end of January and she is acting more and more that age. Her vocabulary is growing daily and leaves me laughing much of the time. She is turning in to quite the little helper – whether I like it or not. 🙂 Today we were washing dishes together and had nearly finished, but she was having so much fun cleaning up with mama that she opened up the silverware drawer and dumped the clean silverware into the sink so we would have more dishes to do. :/ Her new and favorite phrases include “no way!” “awesome!” and “Kaya sad” – generally said after she’s gotten a spanking for something…:P She is my precious lovey girl and buddy!

Image

getting ready for daddy's graduation!

The Blogging Absence – You’ve missed me, right? LOL – just kidding, I’m sure you’ve all been as busy with the holidays as I have! Really I’ve spent the last several months very overwhelmed and dealing with a rough transition to having two children and enduring sleeplessness and feeling depressed. Thankfully, I think we are really through the hardest part of this valley…and it has been a valley. Oh, Praise the LORD! But my life is much busier and something has had to be left undone. Lately the more I say “no” to anything beyond the most simple and necessary work I have to do the healthier and happier I am. Keeping up with the blog has been one thing that didn’t have to get done, so it simply hasn’t! I hope to keep up a little more frequently now, but we’ll see.

Also, my computer had some issues that were making blogging difficult and they have now been resolved! Holla! 🙂

More School – Well, I am resuming part-time school in January! I am excited and nervous. Mostly excited. I love school, but it is a challenge to keep first things first and be a great mom and wife and keep up with studies too. Between a Jan-term class, two independent studies and an online class I hope to complete 12 credit hours this semester. It’s possible I will graduate next December…and let me tell you, that would feel great. Nels is also hoping to finish his MA in Counseling this semester as he only has one Jan-term and one independent study to finish towards his second master’s degree!

I think those are the most pertinent updates for now…Hope you are all doing well and looking forward to celebrating a wonderful CHRISTMAS! ❤

God bless

jc

Leave a Reply

