Babies Don’t Keep (& other things)

I haven’t forgotten about you, dear blog & blog readers. ❤

In fact, I’ve been thinking of you lots but haven’t had much time for writing (something about having a newborn and never sleeping and also the toddler taking up most moments, and their daddy the rest?!…). I do intend to return to semi-routine posting and hopefully soon, but things aren’t quite back to normal around here yet. It may still be a while before we figure out life together as a family of four. Yes, yes its true – two children are more than one – by a lot. My learning curve is steep.

Anyway, I hope you will look forward to some book reviews and updates on our family. In the mean time, check out the new Faith page and updated Currently… page…and enjoy this poem that my life may or may not be resembling these days (by Ruth Hulbert Hamilton)!


Mother, O Mother, come shake out your cloth,
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing, make up the bed,
Sew on a button and butter the bread.

Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

Oh, I’ve grown as shiftless as Little Boy Blue,
Lullabye, rockabye, lullabye loo.
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo

The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo
Look! Aren’t his eyes the most wonderful hue?
Lullabye, rockaby lullabye loo.

The cleaning and scrubbing can wait till tomorrow
But children grow up as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down cobwebs; Dust go to sleep!
I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

❤ jordan

4 thoughts on “Babies Don’t Keep (& other things)

Leave a Reply

