Baby Button Monogram

I think the “nesting” is kicking in early this time around.

My fridge has been cleaned, my closet has been reorganized…and more importantly, baby Hudson’s little wardrobe and bassinet are getting ready to welcome him home!

I saw this adorable baby button monogram on craftgawkerย and had my heart set on making one for our little man. Unfortunately, the buttons were a little harder to come by than I thought (I don’t have a big stash and the thrift stores around here had a very limited supply), so it took me awhile to assemble everything. Over the summer I slowly collected buttons and then added some brads and other odds and ends from my scrapbooking supplies and just yesterday finally bought a frame at Hobby Lobby (they are 50% off right now). Nels kept saying that the button thing was “girly” so I may have gone a little over the top trying to make it “manly.” I hope that it won’t seem too dark and heavy in a little nursery room…but if it does, oh well, he will grow into it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Don’t have time to make your own? Check out this great shop on etsy. Totally blows my monogram out of the water (but also makes my low expenses look great!)…they stitch each button to a piece of fabric – something I may keep in mind if I make another monogram.

Isn’t it lovely? I think one of these would make a really great wedding gift or baby shower gift.

Well, with every little thing finished I am feeling more and more excited (and somewhat more nervous too!) about Hudson’s arrival. He is kicking very actively, but of course is a little shy when anyone wants to actually feel him kick. ๐Ÿ™‚ Only one more month to go!

โค jc

13 thoughts on “Baby Button Monogram

  1. Jordan…these are DARLING!! I’m so thrilled you put this on your blog this morning b/c after going through my Mom’s estate things, I found a HUGE button box. I couldn’t get rid of those but brought them home and put them in my storage room….NOW I KNOW WHY!!! I’m thinking there is a letter “L” in my future!!! xxoo!!!!! Thank you, THANK YOU!!!

  2. I think it looks really cute! I found a picture thing that I want to make for josiah and kaiden. Its like a road in the the shape of a letter with little tiny cars glued on. i think jo would love it cause he is obsessed with cars lately. I just don’t know how to make it. I found it on a shop in the UK? but i bet i could figure it out. I like the button thing too though…

    • Aww, how cute. I am starting to get into the swing of “boy things” but I still drift to the girly stuff too easily! I think it will be easier when he is here and a little older and has his own interests and such…that sounds like a fun project, I’d love to see it if you get around to it!

  3. Jordan! Thanks for reminding me… I’ve been meaning to do this for Hannah for quite some time. And by the way, I like your “H” better than the “A” on Etsy ๐Ÿ™‚ You did great! Very crafty and very original ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you 4 are doing great!

  4. 1 month 1 month 1 month! I remember being so jealous that Seth got to see Kaya right after she was born and I was stuck at school in Bolivar. This time I will be around! Yay! Please let me know if you need anything in the next few weeks. And I mean anything (lunch out, coffee, mani, pedi) and I’ll buy ๐Ÿ™‚ Or practical things like help tying your shoes ๐Ÿ˜‰ Love you.

      • Jordy. You have bigger things to worry about then helping me pack ๐Ÿ™‚ You just worry about keeping that baby healthy.

  5. Ahhh i love this! I can’t wait to meet the little guy. Oh and i bought some really precious boy clothes today, and of course one or two things for Kaya… cause i can’t resist frilly little girl things. haha

  6. Pingback: Top Posts of 2011 | jordan cristine | a day in the life

Leave a Reply

