$4.00 + 2.5 hours = …

 Since finishing Kaya’s first pillowcase dress, I knew that I wanted to make her another one, if not several more in different color combinations, lengths, etc. Throughout the summer I’ve been on the lookout for some inexpensive fabric and ended up spending $4.00 for all the fabric for this dress at Hobby Lobby a few weeks ago. Finally, while Nels was out of town last week, I got to work on another pillowcase dress (again, following this $3 pattern).

I am really pleased with how it turned out, and Kaya loves it too – she’ll carry it around and acts like a delighted little princess when she puts it on (its still a bit big though). I didn’t have anything quite right in my ribbon stash, but this wide satin will do for now. Eventually I think I will swap it out for a thinner – possibly green? – grosgrain ribbon and have it tie on both sides, because I really like how that looks here.

I love that this dress only cost $4, and I almost completely finished it during Kaya’s nap time. Seriously, I am an impatient, short-on-time, very very novice seamstress and this pattern has been a fun intro to kids’ clothes for me. Give it a try! The French seams that the pattern recommends really do lend a clean, finished feel to the dress – so don’t skip that part! Also, on her first dress I used a little ruffle on the bottom, and I think that is so cute and adds a lot of charm. If (when!) I make another, I’ll either make or buy a ruffle for the bottom I think.

Any fun projects in your queue? I’d love to hear about them!

❤ jc

3 thoughts on “$4.00 + 2.5 hours = …

  1. I still think a pillowcase doll made from one of Kaya’s childhood dresses is a good idea. Seriously, you should think about it.

  2. i would love a pattern if you have one ~ now that I have made a couple maybe I will do that when she outgrows them 🙂 Hope you’re doing well Shannon!

  3. Pingback: Top Posts of 2011 | jordan cristine | a day in the life

Leave a Reply

