Times of Refreshing

About a week ago I decided that I wanted to take a break from Facebook. There are a few heart-reasons for this, and I would like to explain my goals for the time away.

First, in the course of a few days, I read two blog posts that got my mind spinning. One was Preparing My Heart for Motherhood on a blog called Passionate Homemaking, and the other was On Quitting Facebook  by yourwishcake. The first article included one idea that was particularly inspiring to me –  taking a retreat before the baby comes. This allows for more time spent with the Lord, asking for grace and simply resting in His presence. For some expectant mothers this may mean a literal couple of days away for retreat. I don’t think that’s what it will mean for me, but I do want to feel centered and prepared. I want to feel like my relationship with the Lord is strong and close as I enter into what is sure to be a challenging and wonderful new stage in my life and motherhood experience. The second article was specifically about why the author (also an expectant mother) decided to quit Facebook. I enjoyed her humorous outlook and could relate to her thoughts on the downsides of time spent on Facebook.

During the time when I read these articles, I was feeling totally exhausted and spent a couple of afternoons crying about my lack of energy and accomplishments in a day. Since then I’ve had a blood test that discovered mild anemia. Taking an iron supplement has improved my strength, but it was also apparent to me that I needed to first cut myself some slack in my high expectations for my already hard-working body, and then cut out unnecessary things from life so that my waking hours could be spent more wisely. Facebook, of course, is a “non-essential,” and thus was one of the first things that came to mind in making these cuts (does it sound like I’ve been listening to too much talk radio about the budget deficit? true! ha!).

I really love Facebook. I love keeping in touch with friends near and far, staying “in the loop” about events, easily and instantly messaging friends when something comes to mind, sharing photos with family, etc. Social networking can be a really awesome tool. And yet there is balance to be found in everything, and for now I need a time of rest. Rest from constant updates, rest from temptation to compare, rest from thinking too much about others’ lives. I want to live these days as fully as possible. For me, that means separating myself from the world of Facebook for a time.

And you know what? The first week of this break has been a little difficult. Facebook has become a part of our life and routine. But, I feel increasingly confident in my decision and the time off-line been really nice too. My mind has been more restful. My time has been better spent. I’ve read Tolstoy instead of my Newsfeed. I’ve had more consistent (and longer) morning devotion times. And honestly, I feel like I have been a better friend even though I’ve been less “web-accessible.” I have spent more time praying specifically, writing personal letters and e-mails, having a few phone conversations, etc.

I don’t think Facebook is a villain by any means. I think its a wonderful way to be connected – but I also think there is a time for disconnection with a purpose. My purpose from now until Hudson arrives is soaking in these summer months and living fully, resting and preparing emotionally, physically and spiritually for our new phase (as much as can be done!) and fasting from a normal habit to make sure that it is kept in check.

In the meantime, I appreciate your prayers for our family as we are going into a really special time! We are so excited about the baby on the way, plus Nels is entering his final semester here at seminary. There are lots of unanswered questions and possibilities. I pray that God will prepare my heart to follow in whatever way He leads us!

❤ jc

4 thoughts on “Times of Refreshing

  1. I admire both your choice to withdraw a little from facebook and your resilience in following through with it. There have been several times that I felt that I needed to fast a bit from it myself, or from other techy addictions. It always starts out very hard, yet in the end it is so rewarding.
    Though I would be the last person to condemn facebook as an evil, it certainly does sometimes have a downright evil hold upon time. Even in using it rightly, the time that it can consume is astonishing. Though it does facilitate keeping in touch with friends and family at a distance, it also condenses life into status updates. The fractured snippets of life seen, but never experienced, are what often draws me away from it. I want to glean from the depths of relationships, not be left in the shallow waters of 140 (twitter) or 420 (fb) characters.
    I also totally agree with your sentiment about having a more restful mind! I find that the further that I withdraw myself from needless bombarding, the more honed it becomes in digesting the items of worth that I need to gain from.

    Congratulations on your withdrawal, I hope that you gain much clarity and peace from it. Time spent focused on depth, rather then volume, is rarely wasted. And time spent with God, and with family, never is.

  2. Thanks Elise! I appreciate your thoughtful response and encouragement! God bless you as you follow Him and find balance in your own life. ❤

    jc

  3. Pingback: Refreshment & Sabbatical Time | jordan cristine | a day in the life

  4. Pingback: on the internet and social media: to use or not to use, and how? | jordan cristine | a day in the life

Leave a Reply

