a taste of summer

Have you been berry picking or cashing in on great deals on summer berries at the farmers market? Yum. One of the healthiest, yummiest things summer has to offer, I think!

We recently visited the berry patch, and though the pickings were slim after this strange growing season, we came home with about a pound and a half of blueberries, and I knew exactly what I wanted to make with them (I made it last year and have been dreaming about it ever since).

I have to admit, I am intimidated by pie making. I’m no expert. I always burn the crust or make it too runny or too…something…but this pie has still been a winner for us both times…and, all from scratch, it only took about half an hour from beginning to baking-time. My husband said it was the best pie he’s ever had. But then he’s a sweetie and a sometimes-wife-flatterer, and I’m not sure he can be trusted in this case 😉 so you’ll have to try it for yourself.

Here’s the recipe: Blueberry Pie and the simple crust we used: Pie Crust.

Paired with some homemade whipped cream, I still say it’s the best breakfast ever. 🙂

jc

Leave a Reply

