On The Menu

A few weeks ago I posted some recipes I had bookmarked and hoped to try…

Well we tried many of those and a few others and here’s what we thought…(Click on the title to see the recipe).

Quinoa & Black Beans – I made it with chicken broth instead of vegetable broth because that’s what I had on hand. Very yummy, very healthy – my man enjoyed the quinoa (it’s a nice switch from rice) and we will have this one again.

Mozzarella-Stuffed Meatballs  – Of course, my husband loved it. Like love love loveeee/obsessed. Again, I made a substitute so I didn’t have to take an extra trip to the store – I cut up some mozzarella cheese sticks into pieces for the cheese in the center, but if I found the mozzarella balls that she raved about, I might try it again. Served alongside spaghetti noodles and tomato sauce. 

Pesto Chicken Florentine – Eh. Yes I made substitutions and actually skipped the chicken so it may not have been a fair trial…but I won’t do this one again. There are just too many delicious ways to make pasta dishes to mess around with anything less than superb! 

Sweet & Sour ChickenAnother delicious, pretty healthy meal. A little more time consuming than our usual chicken stir-fry though…I don’t think this will become a frequently made meal around here.

Luscious Lemon BarsOhhhh yum. These were a lovely treat even though I got carried away with a surprise visit from a friend while these were baking…lemon has been one of my favorite flavors during this pregnancy!

Whole Wheat Honey BreadI have been trying lots of bread recipes and they are all running together in my mind…wish I could remember what I liked/disliked about this recipe! Looks like I’ll be trying it again..

Creamy Tomato Soup with Corn, Chicken & Bacon – This was awesome. Serving it in a bread bowl made it a special meal that both Nels and I loved. Kaya even got in on the action and liked it! I used turkey bacon and added some extra spice with cayenne.

EnchiladasRee Drummond makes everything delicious, doesn’t she? This is no exception. I don’t really like fried food very often, but this was a yummy exception and it didn’t really seem greasy. And of course I love anything that involves loads of fresh cilantro. Mmmm…

Almond Butter CookiesThese were so simple & so yummy. I’m glad we were visiting family shortly after I made them, or I’d have more than a “baby bump.” 

Sometime soon I’d also like to try…Chicken Pita with Tzatziki, Sweet Cinnamon Scones, Kiwi Summer Limeade Pie, and Cajun Chicken Pasta. And as much as I like finding new recipes online, I’d like to get back into my cook books too…plus Nels is out fishing tonight and we may have some fish on the menu in the next few days!

Tried any fun new recipes lately? I’d love to hear about it!

2 thoughts on “On The Menu

Leave a Reply

