on a trip to starbucks

My dashing husband bought me a Starbucks giftcard for my birthday.

What a dear.

This week – the one week that I have two tests, two projects and a million things to do! of course – the baby girl has rebelled against nap time…leaving me a tired, stressed mommy.

But! Lucky me, my husband gets to come home for an hour at lunch. Bless the Lord, oh my soul, bless the Lord! So after enjoying our sandwiches together, he stayed home with baby girl and I ran off to spend the remainder of my gift card at Starbucks, longing for a moment of sanity and rest and a warm mug in my hands.

Wonderful experience – but – 

1) Those lovely little tidbits of a cake pop – you know the super cute little pink party on a stick that look like a harmless, teensy afternoon-pick me up?

One delicious bite. And 170 calories.  I felt betrayed by my “good girl dessert bite”. Oh well, I forgive you dear birthday cake pop. My thighs might not. But you’re still my favorite.

2) Please everyone, stop staring at me because I’m pregnant and at Starbucks. For all you know I am drinking decaf! Or tea! And besides, even if I am drinking the real deal, my doctor said coffee is fine for baby and me in moderation. You are more than welcome to intervene if you see me lighting up in the parking lot or shooting something up into my arm…however, my afternoon half-caf with milk is not endangering anyone.

Alright, so it wasn’t really that eventful of a trip to Starbucks. Maybe I’m just a tired, moody pregnant woman who needs to rant and think about something other than the study guide for my test that I have been staring at for days…:) …and, uh, maybe when I finally ace that, we could go out for cake pops? …

❤ jc

6 thoughts on “on a trip to starbucks

  1. This made me smile. 🙂 Cake pops are so yummy! I used to work at Starbucks and there was a pregnant lady who came in and got a TRIPLE vanilla latte every day her whole pregnancy. So don’t feel bad. Mommies of toddlers should never be expected to go without caffeine!

  2. Hmm… I’m thinking, maybe soon I should bring the boys and take kaya on a play date so you can relax or do whatever you need to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

