pressing on

Man. Just when you think spring is here…it snows in Kansas City.

It’s been a pretty depressing weekend. We’ve made the best of it and I’m thankful for some cuddly family time with Nels and Kaya. Saturday morning I woke up with a bad sore throat and terrible body aches, headaches, some vomiting and have been in bed/on the couch for the last two days. Kaya has a bad cold too, poor thing. 😦 She has a much better attitude than me, though!

Hope deferred makes the heart sick,
But when the desire comes, it is a tree of life. {Prov. 13:12}

It seems like we just survived winter and were just emerging from a hard time. I have been so eager to celebrate a new season. I have been dreaming of flower and vegetable gardens, afternoons at the pool with my little girl, tank tops and flip flops. And now, wintry cold days have me fighting for a positive attitude. Falling flakes that would seem romantic and beautiful and exciting a few months ago, inspiring cozy mornings with hot cocoa, are now just…a serious downer! I loved wearing my scarves and boots…and now they are so unwelcome but necessary in my wardrobe.

Anyway, between being sick again, being stuck inside and generally being disappointed by a lot of circumstances right now, its been a struggle to not just give in to being depressed and negative about everything.

But I know spring is coming.

I know seasons only last for a while.

I know that the Lord will turn my mourning into dancing. He will clothe me with gladness (Psalm 30).

In the mean time, I am doing my best to put one foot in front of the other. Trying to not think too much, but just do the next thing.

Today, that means putting together my menu/grocery list for the upcoming days and weeks. I am going to try some new recipes, fresh flavors…stay busy & occupied until spring finally arrives and invites us out into the sunshine again. Here are a few that we are going to be trying:…

Mexican Baked Fish (I’m going to use tilapia instead of cod)

Mozzarella Stuffed Homemade Meatballs

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Potato, Pepper and Onion Frittata

Quinoa and Black Beans

Chicken Tikka Masala

Sweet and Sour Chicken

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

And maybe some sweet treats:

Luscious Lemon Bars

Country Apple Dumplings

…and maybe some light salads since I really do believe spring is not so far away! 🙂

It looks like it will be the end of next week before we have some nice weather again. Plenty to keep me busy until then with school and housework and such. Hoping that I feel better tomorrow, and until then, I’m curling up with some hot tea and my “The Weight of Glory” by C.S. Lewis (which has been excellent so far!).

Hope that your weekend was better than mine!

Here’s to holding on till spring…;-)

❤ jc

7 thoughts on “pressing on

  1. Hey Jordan,

    That Quinoa and Black Bean recipe is really good. I like to add in a can of crushed tomatoes for more flavor and nutrients. It’s really, really good, and REALLY good for you!

  2. Jordan, I pray this morning finds you and Kaya better!
    It sounds like we had about the same week-end. Fortunately I don’t have the tummy upsets you do. My throat doesn’t hurt nearly as much. I love your menu suggestions. I definitely will be trying several of them when I feel like cooking again. This is the day the Lord has made, be glad and rejoice in it!

    • oh, so sorry you have been feeling sick as well! 😦 i think i have been pukey because of the drainage-pregnancy combo. not fun! hope to see you doing better on wednesday!

  3. I hear ya!!!! I feel exactly the same way. It’s snowing again this -morning 😦 My entire body, soul, mind…is CRAVING spring. My skin is white and pasty, I think my eyes are starting to look hollow, I’m tired of gloomy and cold. I just need to lay outside with the hot sun beating down of me and EVERYTHING would be better. I’ll be praying for you! We’ll get through this. In the meantime, enjoy those recipes. The I also really like quinoa. I have a recipe for a making crock pot quinoa with apples and brown sugar. You’ve inspired me to actually try it sometime this week. If it’s a winner, I’ll send it to you.

    thinking of ya 🙂

    • I hope the snow melts soon for you! I’m desperate for some vitamin d sunshine rays too! And ohhh…do let me know how that quinoa with apples & brown sugar turns out. Yum.

  4. Pingback: On the Menu « jordan cristine | a day in the life

Leave a Reply

