a couple of lists for 2011

A 2011 Reading List

  • A Tale of Two Cities | Charles Dickens. A Christmas gift! Already begun reading…Dickens amazes me.
  • The Voyage of the Dawn Treader | C.S. Lewis
  • Weight of Glory | C.S. Lewis
  • God’s Polished Arrow | Michael McMullen. A biography of W.C. Burns written by a professor from MBTS. Have already read half and just need to finish it!
  • Raising Godly Tomatoes | L. Elizabeth Krueger. Parenting book recommended by a friend…
  • Chosen by God | R.C. Sproul. Recommended by my cousin Zach.
  • Sir Gibbie | ย George MacDonald. Currently reading together with Nels!
  • The Notebook | Nicholas Sparks. I know…:)
  • Leota’s Garden | Francine Rivers. Loved her “Redeeming Love”!
  • Middlemarch | George Eliot
  • Life Together | Dietrich Bonhoeffer. Almost finished!
  • Be Still My Soul | Elisabeth Elliot. One of my most beloved authors.
  • As the Romans Did | Jo-Ann Shelton. Lauded as a great resource in understanding the 1st Century & New Testament.
  • Beside Every Successful Man | Meghan Basham. Re-reading/skimming this one!
  • War and Peace | Leo Tolstoy. Daunting, but “Anna Karenina” was epic (in a tragic sort of way!).
  • Crime and Punishment | Fyodor Dostoevsky. Seriously just need to finish this one already…almost done.
  • Art & Soul | Hilary Brand & Adrienne Chaplin. Another re-read/skim.
  • Spiritual Parenting | C.H. Spurgeon.
  • Truth & Imagination | John Keats.
  • Forgotten God | Francis Chan. Recently read his first book and thought the “profiles on the lukewarm” were excellent & convicting.

Well, in addition to this list I will have several school textbooks to read, and who knows what else! I go back and forth between feeling like this list is overwhelming and wondering if I should add more because I really do love to read…but we will see how the year plays out, and I can always skip a few or add something else. God only knows how much time I’ll have for reading but it feels good to have a list of what I’d like to read.

How about you, friends? Any books on your reading list for the year? Any other things that you want to accomplish this year? I have another list I am working on and will share with you soon hopefully, but today we are getting massive amounts of snow and I am hurriedly getting some tasks accomplished so this afternoon I can take my little girl out for her first snow day!…also, I’d like to experiment a little with wintery-white photography. Looking forward to it! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Have a great day ~

jc

11 thoughts on “a couple of lists for 2011

  1. Great list! I’m doing the same thing. So many books, so little time! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I love C.S Lewis. Dawn Treader might be my favorite of the Narnia books. I love his Space Trilogy too. You should definitely read it sometime! (Out of the Silent Planet, Perelandra, and The Hideous Strength). Gotta admit, I’ve read every Nicholas Sparks book. ๐Ÿ™‚ The Notebook is definitely a sweet one. And I have also read all of Francine Rivers’ books. Leota’s Garden is really good! Prepare to cry. Ha! Her Mark of the Lion trilogy is my favorite though. I would add that to your next list!! Have you read “Rebecca” by Daphne du Maurier? Also a good one.
    I might have to add some of your ideas to my list. Happy reading! It’s not easy with a little munchkin asking to read “The Hungriest Caterpillar” every time we sit down to enjoy a chapter, right? =)

    • Ohh, I have heard of Rebecca but never read it! I may have to add it. And I remember reading the Space Trilogy, but it’s been such a long time that I’m sure I’d enjoy it again. Glad to hear that the Francine River’s book on my list is good! I really like what I’ve read by her. Good luck on your reading list! And its so fun to have babies that love reading, isn’t it?! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. That’s a good list ๐Ÿ™‚ I can most definitely recommend The Voyage of The Dawn Treader, in fact, the whole of the Narnia Chronicles are amazing (though they’re meant to be for children, I think that adults appreciate them more!).

    • Thank you! And I totally agree about the Chronicles of Narnia. I enjoyed them as a child, but appreciate them much more fully now!

  3. WOW! I admire your ambition. I can’t even remember the last book I read. (well, actually I do I just wish I could forget it) Remember, between family, school, and hobbies, take time out and just relax. Happy 2011, hope it’s a good one!

  4. Pingback: more snowday photos « jordan cristine | a day in the life

  5. Pingback: A Book « jordan cristine | a day in the life

  6. Pingback: Spring Break « jordan cristine | a day in the life

  7. Pingback: the {new & improved} reading list « jordan cristine | a day in the life

  8. Pingback: a year in review + thoughts on the next | jordan cristine | a day in the life

Leave a Reply

