8 days to go…!

Fail not to call to mind,
in the course of the twenty-fifth of this month,
that we celebrate the birth of the Divinest Heart
that ever walked the earth;
and then smile and enjoy yourselves for the rest of it;
for mirth is also of Heaven’s making.”

{Leigh Hunt}


Ugh. In the last few days, I admit – I haven’t really celebrated or prepared my heart for Christmas. I’ve allowed the stress of school work and finances and general household work to drag me into a sort of slump and lull in this season which is meant to be so full of joy. So, here’s to shaking that off! 🙂

One thing I have enjoyed recently though is re-reading the Christmas story in my husband’s NET Bible. The NET is really neat because it has all kinds of footnotes! I am a footnote junkie. But really, the NET includes translator’s notes, some backgrounds information, etc. It is very helpful in understanding the text in a fuller sense and may shed some new light on the Christmas story if you are hungering to remember Christ’s 1st Advent in a deeper way this year. Click here to read Isaiah 53 in the NET free online (I would also recommend starting back at Isaiah 52:13).

Oh dear, cleaning, making a few last presents, wrapping them, a big trip to the post office, some errands and dinner with friends is all on the agenda for today. I am praying that God will help me take it all in stride with His joy and peace ruling in my heart and life. I hate how easy it is to just become so overwhelmed with day to day life that I don’t just celebrate and thank the LORD for His amazing gift to us…here is a short video about the incarnation of Jesus that God has used to help re-align my heart this morning!

Only 8 more days, friends! May God bless you and your family as you celebrate his 1st Advent and prepare for his 2nd COMING! Jesus is coming back! Amen.

With Love,

jordan cristine

Leave a Reply

