Kaya’s Journal

So a few weeks after {mostly} sweet baby K was born, I started keeping a journal for her. One day it will be a gift for her from me {when I write in it I often feel like I’m dying and writing her my last words of love and instruction…lol my mind just goes to the dramatic and catastrophic!}. Sometimes I write and tell her about the things going on in her life…what she likes, doesn’t like, who she’s met recently, what I love about her, etc. Sometimes I tell her what I know about life and godliness. Sometimes I write out prayers for her or Scriptures that God has given me for her.

Today I asked the Lord to give me words for my baby girl, and when I read Psalm 15 and 16, I knew my prayer had been answered. These Psalms describe the kind of person that I need to become, and the kind of daughter I need to raise:

“O LORD, who shall sojourn in your tent? Who shall dwell on your holy hill? He who walks blamelessly and does what is right and speaks truth in his heart; who does not slander with his tongue and does no evil to his neighbor, nor takes up a reproach against his friend; in whose eyes a vile person is despised, but who honors those who fear the LORD; who swears to his own hurt and does not change; who does not put out his money at interest and does not take a bribe against the innocent. He who does these things shall never be moved.”

Are these things true of me? Do I speak truth (even in my heart)? If not, how can I ever hope for them to be true of my daughter? It can only be by God’s grace, because “You are my Lord; I have no good apart from You.”

One of my deepest desires is for Kaya to life a beautiful, full, joyous life. That will only happen if she can say this with the Psalmist:

“I have set the LORD always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure. For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption. You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”

Abba, make it so!

…I love you, my loud, demanding, beautiful little Boo Boo ❤

4 thoughts on “Kaya’s Journal

  1. Pingback: naming our baby boy! « jordan cristine | a day in the life

  2. Pingback: Ezra Neal @ 4.5 months | jordan cristine | a day in the life

Leave a Reply

