a steadfast, willing spirit

I was blessed, encouraged and convicted today by our pastor’s message on grace.

Especially God’s grace in spite of our failures.

A verse in Psalm 51 stood out to me as if I were reading it for the first time…(12):  “…grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.”

The verse read differently in several translations and I wasn’t really sure what it meant, so I looked it up in Adam Clarke’s Old Testament commentary and found this: נדיבה רוח ruachnedibah, a noble spirit. A free, generous, princely spirit; cheerfully giving up itself to Thee; no longer bound and degraded by the sinfulness of sin. Similar to the נכון רוח ruach nachon, a constant, steady, determined spirit translated “renew a steadfast spirit within me,” in verse 10.

Eugene Peterson paraphrased it in the Message: “…put a fresh wind in my sails.”

Amen, Abba! Make it so, in me…

Leave a Reply

