“Where flowers bloom, so does hope…”

“Where flowers bloom, so does hope…” – Lady Bird Johnson

Nels and I are having such a blast with our tiny little experiment of a garden. We were out of town all week and came home expecting our plants to be suffering and barely alive, but to our delight and surprise, most of the plants have literally doubled in size. I’m really enjoying having a hobby in common with my husband, being outside and relaxing while watching things grow, etc. We have both had times of serious discontentment living in a little on-campus apartment, but somehow having a little garden and some bright, happy flowers in the back makes both of us feel more content with our little home {and like we are making this home rather than just dreaming of where we would like to be}. Additionally, every time I walk outside I feel more amazed at God’s creation. There is no way to make things grow. He provides the rain, He provides the sun…he brings forth the fruit of the land. 🙂

The only edible plants right now are the herbs …I absolutely love the flavorful punch a little bit of fresh cilantro or basil or mint can add…My husband made this wonderful fresh herb/diced tomato/olive oil pasta last week. It was ohhh-so-delicious!

Our projects for this weekend {or maybe this next week!} are…blueberry muffins for our sunday school class, making my first ever jam with a bunch of cherries we picked at my in-laws’ farm in southern Missouri, and *hopefully* taking some special anniversary pictures for my mom and dad.

And…in closing…here’s a little thought from my devotions in Numbers:

“Now the man Moses was very meek, more than all people who were on the face of the earth…Hear my words: if there is a prophet among you, I the LORD make myself known to him in a vision; I speak with him in a dream. Not so with my servant Moses. He is faithful in all my house. With him I speak mouth to mouth, clearly, not in riddles, and he beholds the form of the LORD…”

Oftentimes my first thought about Moses is that he was strong. A leader to be reckoned with…and yet, His primary characteristic, and the one that the LORD was pleased with was his meekness and faithfulness. An interesting thought…<3

Praying for meekness and faithfulness in my own heart,

Jordan

Leave a Reply

