::Sunshine, Come & Help Me Sing::

Summer is finally here in the Carlson house. Nels finished all his finals this week, and although it has taken some time to sink in that we are finally FREE!, with the sun coming out to play today it’s starting to feel like summer has arrived. What a welcome arrival.

I like {http://bspokeblog.com} this blog. I think I feel the same way about summer. I feel more fully alive in the glorious sunny, humid Kansas summer. The season’s changes are something I am so thankful for!…Anyway, I am going to follow suit and make a list of things that are must-do’s this summer (and some things I’m just looking forward to!):

take 47578398 pictures of my babygirl | become competent on our new canon 40d | run a 5k in june or august | get in shape enough to enjoy our Colorado bike trip | find {or make?} perfect throw pillows for our living room | finish at least two good books | fish as often as possible with my man | at least one roadtrip | explore the artsy stores a few miles away | have “mommy afternoons out” weekly | go blueberry picking | teach kiddos about Jesus at VBS | enjoy swimming and parks and bubbles with the baby | cook awesome meals with the vegetables in our garden | buy some pretty stationary and get better about keeping in touch with the people i love | have regular dates with my kid brother – who’s barely a kid anymore | help my mom pack | decorate my parents’ guest room | write a lovesong for my hubby and a lullaby for my baby | finish our honeymoon scrapbook and start the wedding one | journal my prayers | keep my herbs alive! lol

What are you looking forward to this summer?

Sunshine, won’t you be my mother
Sunshine, come and help me sing
My heart is darker than these oceans
My heart is frozen underneath

We Are
Crooked souls trying to stay up straight
Dry eyes in the pouring rain,
When the shadow proves the sunshine,
the shadow proves the sunshine

Two scared little run aways
Hold fast till the break of daylight where,
The shadow proves the sunshine,
The shadow proves the sunshine

O, Lord, why did you forsake me?
O, Lord, don’t be far away (away)
Storm clouds gathering beside me
Please Lord, don’t look the other way

I am a,
Crooked soul trying to stay up straight
Dry eyes in the pouring rain
Where the shadow proves the sunshine,
the shadow proves the sunshine

Two scared little run aways
Hold fast till the break of daylight where,
The shadow proves the sunshine,
The shadow proves the sunshine

– Switchfoot, “The Shadow Proves the Sunshine”  {a beautiful song! i adore jon foreman}

Leave a Reply

