I’ve Never Known A Better Man

My Papa Sam Huston went home to be with Jesus on Thursday morning at the age of 81.

As usual, he got up and was doing his morning exercises when the Lord took him home.

I’ve never known a better man…I’ve never known a sweeter, more faithful, consistent, loving man.

On his way to work in the morning he would pray for each member of our family and wouldn’t start the car before he had finished.

He loved my grandma and stuck with her through years of alcoholism and addiction. They were married for over 53 years.

Papa Sam always called me “tuts”…we have shared a birthday for almost 21 years.

I’ll miss the sparkly blue eyes and easy smile, the love for a good story, the real estate advice, evenings watching Fox News or Johnny Carson and eating popcorn, doing morning exercises together and sharing the “best meal of     the day” – a hearty breakfast, riding on his tractor, helping keep rabbits out of his garden, hearing stories of his hitch hiking adventures in Europe, listening to him and Grandma Barb bickering about each other’s driving techniques and directions, listening to his humble prayers, knowing I’ll never get out of town without him filling my gas tank and checking my oil at least once, or being shown off as grandchild #5 of 15 around his church or golf course.

Papa Sam loved Romans 10:9,10: “If you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you shall be saved. For with the heart man believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation.”

Part of me can’t really fathom that he is gone. Even still, I am filled with the sense that Papa Sam still “is”…not that he is still alive in the body or on the earth, but he has not simply ceased to exist, he has passed into fuller life in heaven with Jesus. His citizenship is there.

Papa Sam has left us an incredible legacy of living fully, living well…living an abundant life in Christ.

I love him and I will miss him deeply.

6 thoughts on “I’ve Never Known A Better Man

  1. Pingback: a bit of joy! « jordan cristine | a day in the life

  2. Pingback: the great pumpkin obsession « jordan cristine | a day in the life

  3. Pingback: more snowday photos « jordan cristine | a day in the life

  4. Pingback: Dear Papa | jordan cristine | a day in the life

  5. Pingback: on a few days with grandma | jordan cristine | a day in the life

Leave a Reply

