Life, liberty & the pursuit of Joy in CHRIST!

Jonathan Edwards once made this resolution: Resolved, To live with all my might, while I do live.

I will praise the God of my salvation.

Satan is a joy-stealer. Sin is a joy-stealer. Busy life and self-centered-ness are joy stealers.

I am learning do everything that I can to live a joyful, Christ-centered life.

Today I found joy in the beautiful weather, in realizing that when I don’t know how to pray, the Spirit intercedes with groaning too deep for words. God gave me joy in Ephesians 5 and Romans 8, in a text message from my baby brother, in thinking of my upcoming mission trip, wedding & honeymoon, laughing at the unexpected, in wondering at God’s craftsmanship in designing the human body as my muscles ache from a morning run, in listening to an old man tell a tender story about his beloved late wife, in registering to vote for my first election, feeling kind of silly and grown-up. 

JCH

“Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.” Psalm 90:14

“Praying for joy is not the emotional pampering of joyless people. It is preparation for sacrifice. What’s at stake in the fight for joy is the radiance of the worth of Jesus made visible for the world to see in sacrifices of love flowing from the joy of blood-bought, soul-satisfied, Christ-exalting people. When Paul said to the Corinthians, ‘We work with you for your joy’ (2 Corinthians 1:24), he was not saying, ‘We pamper you.’ He was saying, ‘We prepare you for radical, Christ-exalting sacrifices of love.'”

Leave a Reply

